Thought For The Day 09/20/14

Standard

Seeing The Answer 

Thought 1288

___

prayer_poster_350

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+prayer&qpvt=picture+of+prayer&FORM=IGRE#a

___ 

God speaks in the silence of the heart. Listening is the beginning of prayer.

Mother Teresa

http://www.quoteworld.org/quotes/11159

___

Someone once wrote and asked me if there was a way they could tell if God answered their prayers. And of course, my first inkling was to respond to them that faith is believing with all your heart  even in the absence of concrete, tangible, physical evidence. And then I stepped back and thought for a moment about the question. And the more I thought, the more I realized that sometimes seeing God’s answer may be a bit easier than we think assuming we are prepared to consider and reflect on the matter in a couple of ways. First, remember that sometimes “NO” is an answer. Secondly, we, in our haste, seek out instant gratification. It seems these days, the one thing we lack is patience. But sometimes God’s answers need both time and opportunity to be revealed.

___

A suggestion I thought of was to think about keeping a journal of our prayers. If we see, re-read and contemplate the things we are asking for God’s help with, perhaps the answer is there… a part of your life, already. Try looking at the  list every day with an open mind and heart. Then see if that still and quiet openness leads you to your answer. I think you may well be surprised. Just remember that the answer to your entreaty may not always be the one you are expecting.

___

When there are things we hope will come to pass, and we share these things with God, we are not praying. Instead, we are thinking about prayer in the wrong way. Hoping and wishing that God will do what we ask involves more of the baseness of the human mind and selfishness of the human heart! When our wishes come true, I’ll wager that it is not with any assistance from the Almighty, helping them along. Wishes are the by-product of man’s schemes and the human will to control the things in his life. Wishes are described in John 3:8 NLT, “The wind blows wherever it wants. Just as you can hear the wind but can’t tell where it comes from or where it is going, so you can’t explain how people are born of the Spirit.”

___

Prayers are dealt with in an entirely different way because they are measured and then answered based on God’s guidelines for our welfare, rather than our own! If what we are praying for aligns with the things God wills for our lives, then usually (and I say usually, not always, because we can not know what God’s mind is as it relates to our welfare), we will receive His answer and it will be the thing we hope it will be and it will be something that serves to enrich our faith and deepen our relationship with Him. Which is as it should be, as He reminds us in 1 Corinthians 14:15 ESV, “What am I to do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will pray with my mind also; I will sing praise with my spirit, but I will sing with my mind also.” 

___

Yes, a prayer journal might just be the perfect tool to use to distinguish between whether our entreaty is a prayer or a wish! And there is another gift a prayer journal can give. Think about what a wonderful tool to this could be to use with your family, and especially, your children, to help them understand about faith and prayer and what a true prayer is. Not only can this be a faith building experience but look at it as a family building experience as well! You and your loved ones can share not only a very intimate bonding experience but you will also be reinforcing the need of keeping an open line of communication between each other AND the Almighty!

___

So God said to him, “Since you have asked for this and not for long life or wealth for yourself, nor have asked for the death of your enemies but for discernment in administering justice, I will do what you have asked. I will give you a wise and discerning heart, so that there will never have been anyone like you, nor will there ever be. Moreover, I will give you what you have not asked for—both wealth and honor—so that in your lifetime you will have no equal among kings.

1 Kings 3: 11-13 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

