Thought For The Day 09/27/14

Standard

Are We (Am I) Self Absorbed?

Thought 1295

___

self absorbed

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+being+self+absorbed&qpvt=picture+of+being+self+absorbed&FORM=IGRE#a

___

Before my accident I was a little too… selfish and self-absorbed and for me, to now be at the place where I can kinda give back and inspire people. I’m blessed. I’m really blessed.

Rick Allen

___

self-absorbed

adj:     preoccupied with one’s own
thoughts, emotions, life, etc.

synonym:     self-involved,
egocentric, egoistic, egotistical,
self-centred

(limited to or caring only
about yourself and your own needs)

___

A friend challenged me a while ago to look at the things I write in my “Thought For The Day” section because of their concern that at times my writings seemed self-absorbed. Now my first reaction was to feel surprise that this would be the perception I was generating and then my second thought was to really look back at my writings with more than my heart and mind’s eye, so to speak!

___

I guess any time we discuss of issues of faith, there is a somewhat self-centered slant to the notion of just exactly what faith means. Faith is a very personal matter. What I define as faith for me may differ tremendously from what your definition is. Some see faith as being opposed to reason while others view faith as merely a positive assumption as a result of logical reasoning. I see faith as reality which is beyond the range of what many would see as normal experience and understanding.

___

The things I write every day are simply my  view of how the spirituality that God ignited within my being is changing the way I conduct my life every day. Now I try to share a message with you that challenges you to think about what I am saying as it applies to your own life too. I try not to be too “in your face” about that message. I’d rather nudge you with an idea and then hope that it ignites something within you to change one tiny way in which you live. Some times that nudge may be a bit harder than at other times, and sometimes I might just fall flat on my backside as I poke you. But either way, my hope is that you reach the end of my story thinking about my words and hopefully, my message! And to quote Katherine Graham, “To love what you do and feel that it matters – how could anything be more fun? ” And I also would add, how could anything be more impactful and important?

___

 

Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus,

To all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

To all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with the overseers I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now. And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.

Philippians 2: 106 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

