Thought For The Day 09/29/14

Standard

Chasing Away The “Will-O’-The-Wisp”

Thought 1297

___

Will_o___the_wisp_by_Timmetrius

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+the+will+o+the+wisp&qpvt=picture+of+the+will+o+the+wisp&FORM=IGRE#a

___

What is true by lamplight is not always true by sunlight.

Joseph Joubert

"What is true by lamplight is not always true by sunlight."

___

I was thinking about the boogeyman (AKA the Will-O’-The-Wisp) the other day. I know that’s an odd thing to come to the mind of an adult, but when my son was very little, he became obsessed with the idea of monsters in his closet. And it didn’t matter how much I reassured him that there were no monsters. He was so fearful that bedtime became a nightmare. Until I changed the players in the game.

___

I spent one night reading to my children, as I tried to do as often as possible, but instead of a fairy tale that might have some characters that were frightening to young children, I selected only stories that were upbeat, happy and presented positive images of people and life. And if I was able to paint a picture in their minds that reinforced a message that they, too, could do absolutely anything they wanted, as long as it was good, would not hurt others and could have a positive impact in not only their lives but in the lives of those around them, then I knew they would learn a lesson that would last a lifetime….. and maybe, just maybe, get rid of the boogeyman.

___

Well, it took a few more days of difficult bedtimes, me reading and sharing happy thoughts and reassuring that the rustling they thought they heard was only the wings of angels sent by God to watch over them, but before any of us realized it, bedtime became a much happier time of day for our family, and the boogeyman was no more.

___

It all in how we choose to rationalize the things in our lives that we find troubling, and even frightening. If we turn our minds to the joyful message that our faith and our belief in promises given to us by the Almighty, we can transform those fears into positive action with the net result being that we live a happy and fulfilling life. If, on the other hand, we keep our minds mired in fear and a sense of hopelessness, we will find that the boogeyman or Will-O’-The-Wisp never leaves our closet! That is why God has chosen to frequently  spread words of encouragement against fear throughout the Bible. From Genesis to Revelation, God reminds us to “Fear not.”

___

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Deuteronomy 31:6 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

