Thought For The Day 10/02/14

Standard

Happiness

Thought 1300

___

happiness-3

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+happiness&qpvt=picture+of+happiness&FORM=IGRE#a

___

“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.”

Frederick Keonig

http://thinkexist.com/quotes/frederick_keonig/

___

I am a person who wears my emotions all over me. One quick glance and you can tell if I am in pain, or if I am pleased or if I am angry. Yes, I am the kind of person who grew up measuring success in tangibles, such as whether I got an A+ on a test, or my team scored the most points in a competition.

___

Now for those of you who know my daughter, except for the fact that there is a family resemblance, you know that she is just the opposite when it comes to letting the public at large know what she’s thinking. She can successfully don her “poker face” and mask every emotion she is feeling. Now she relaxes her guard when it comes to family, and that is good, since it is our family who serve as our greatest cheerleaders in life! But people who don’t know her as well? They usually have no clue exactly what she is thinking at any given time!

___

But one other thing is different about us. Yes, my daughter has a terrific need to succeed, but she is less inclined to measure her success by a prize or an award. You see, she measures her success on how happy her effort has made her…. and the others who might just benefit from what she has done!

___

Now, don’t get me wrong. I don’t think I am really as shallow as I may have made it sound. And some of the change has likely come from one of life’s inevitable’s…. aging! You see, the older I become, the easier it seems to be for me to view my successes based on how they make me feel at a gut level, rather by appearances. But 60 years and living in 7 decades of world events, is a really long time to reach this realization. Which says to me that her dad and I must have done something right in the way we raised our daughter, and our son! You see, they seem to intuitively know the answer to the question, “ARE YOU HAPPY?”

___

Now happiness is definitely something every person both desires and aspires to. And yet ask anyone to describe what happiness means to them, and you will find them, more often than not, struggling to answer. You see, I think we all can identify when we feel the emotion of happiness, but we can almost never quantitate that emotion. And why, you may ask? Because it is a subjective experience, based on our life experiences.

___

What makes my husband happy is a round of golf…. whether he has played well or not. You see, being out in the sun with his friends gladden’s his heart and makes him feel good! Happiness for me is often seeing my grandson’s face as he discovers something new in life. It is this simple thing that gives me joy today, where once it might have been making the Honor Roll! And today, as I sit writing this, my happiness seems to revolve around my faith filled heart! You see, I am also discovering that with age, things matter less than experiences! For example, the more I give, the more I get back. It’s as if my faith somehow rises, and becomes even stronger with each act. And do not confuse to have faith and to believe. They are not the same!

___

Faith is a noun. Mandy is a noun. I am real. Faith is real. You see faith is what we HAVE. Believe is a verb. Give is a verb. Believe is what we DO just as to give is something we do. And when we act on our faith, we Believe. It is the verb Believe that gives our Faith its power, just as when we give to others, we add even more power to that Faith!  Faith does not mean we only pay lip service to God by agreeing with His counsel in mind alone. No, Faith means agreeing with God’s counsel by embracing His wisdom with every fiber of our being, and then we must carry that wisdom even further by sharing it through the acts we perform. You see, it is then, and only then, that we each will know in our hearts exactly what true happiness is!

___

 

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.

Philippians 4:11-12 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

