Thought For The Day 10/04/14

Standard

The Most Paralyzing Emotion

Thought 1302

___

being scared
http://s1.hubimg.com/u/3

___

“Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind, And therefore is winged Cupid painted blind”

William Shakespeare

“A Midsummer Night’s Dream” 
Act 1, Scene 1

http://www.nosweatshakespeare.com/quotes/shakespeare-love-quotes/

___

Fear! It is perhaps the most paralyzing of all emotions known to man. And even though we embrace faith, even the most devout and faith filled heart can not escape the touch of fear’s cloying and cold fingers. And yes, I have read 2 Timothy 1:7 ESV, “For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” And I even know Joshua 1:9 ESV, where it is written, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

___

Yes, He is there, but I am weak and all to human in my fears. And while I know I should be turning them over to Him for safekeeping, so I can get a good night’s sleep, there they remain, haunting my dreams and lurking just beyond every corner I turn and every bush I pass in my waking! So what do I do with this irrational and overwhelming weakness?

___

Then it hit me. LOVE! It is perhaps the single strongest weapon we have to drive fear to its knees! You see, fear is merely a bully and a punisher. It strikes us and tears away the fabric of our faith by undermining our self esteem and our strength. But love is even a more powerful weapon than courage. And while it is our earthly love of others that gives us the will to fight, it is His perfect love that gives us the armor of protection which keeps us safe during the battle. And why not! God created everything for us and it is this realization that empowers us. He is the bedrock upon which the foundation of our lives is built and He will never fail us…..even during the times we fail Him! Just check out his assurance of that in 1 John 4:18 ESV, “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love..”

___

God raised him up, loosing the pangs of death, because it was not possible for him to be held by it. For David says concerning him, “‘I saw the Lord always before me, for he is at my right hand that I may not be shaken; therefore my heart was glad, and my tongue rejoiced; my flesh also will dwell in hope. For you will not abandon my soul to Hades, or let your Holy One see corruption. You have made known to me the paths of life; you will make me full of gladness with your presence.

Acts:24-28 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

