Thought For The Day 10/07/14

Standard

How Sweet The Sound

Thought 1305

___

amazing_grace8

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+amazing+grace&qpvt=picture+of+Amazing+Grace&FORM=IGRE#a

___

The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself.

Anna Quindlen

http://www.quotegarden.com/self-discovery.html

___

I remember spending a day with my dad and my grandson celebrating my Scottish heritage at the Scotland County Highland Games in Laurinberg, NC. And perhaps the thing that resonates most with me at events like this, must be the bagpipes and the beauty that is created by a very unbeautiful bag of wind! And listening to the music at this event brought back other memories….. memories of the times I’ve been mesmerized by the Pipers bidding farewell to a fallen comrade with one of the most recognizable hymns performed at our “leave-taking” celebrations.  Of course I am referring to the song “Amazing Grace”.  And yet do you really understand just exactly what it is that the words and music are really saying to us? What is God’s amazing grace?

___

While “grace” can be used as either a noun or a verb, the definition that applies here is “the free and unmerited favour of God, as manifested in the salvation of sinners and the bestowal of blessings”. Unmerited! In other words, we are benefitting from God’s very own “escape clause”. He knew that man would never, on his own, be able to merit salvation. We lost that privilege by virtue of the very fact that we ARE human and as mortal man, we sin and fall short of God’s glory. There was nothing we could do on our own to earn entrance into Heaven, and not wanting us to spend an eternity in Hell, God gave us our “escape clause” by sending His son to pay our entrance fee. That does presume that we choose to accept this special gift of grace He bestows. Most people do not!  In Ephesians 2:8-10we are told,  For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.  For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do

___

So when and if we ever make it to heaven, it is not by our hand. We as a race of beings were lost but it is because of His gift of Amazing Grace, we have had the scales removed from our eyes, and are given a clear view of the thing that awaits us if we but choose that for ourselves. Choice. Free will. You see, God also knew that we must be the ones who willingly choose to embrace and make use of His gift. The gift looses all of its power if we were to have it forced upon us. But the fact that it is our choice to accept it, transforms this from simply an offering and elevates it to something more precious and beautiful than any other treasure that can be had!

___

Amazing Grace

John Newton (1725-1807)

Lyrics:

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear, and Grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear the hour I first believed.  

Through many dangers, toils and snares  I have already come;
‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far and Grace will lead me home.

 The Lord has promised good to me. His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be, as long as life endures.  

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail, and mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil, a life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise than when we’ve first begun.  

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

___

Click the link to listen to the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards, accompanied by the Czech Film Orchestra playing “Amazing Grace”

Video includes scenes of Scotland.

___

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.

Romans 5:1-2 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

