Thought For The Day 10/15/14

Standard

Change…

The Only Thing That Is Permanent!

Thought 1313

___

change

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+change&qpvt=picture+of+change&FORM=IGRE#a

___

If nothing ever changed, there’d be no butterflies.
Author Unknown

http://quotegarden.com/change.html

___

Most of us do something during the last and first months of every year. And while I can understand our choosing this as the time to take a moment for those self-evaluations and reflections of the lives we have led during the preceding 12 months so that we can plan our strategy for the things we want to accomplish in the new year ahead, I have to wonder if it might not be a matter of too little too late! After all as we ponder the successes and failures that have comprised each life story, doesn’t it make more sense to take a long look at our story a bit more often so that the changes we want to make can be given the true attention they deserve, instead of finding it as number 18 on our itemized list of everything we hope to change? I think we are missing on a real opportunity for positive growth on a continuing basis by choosing this model, especially when those reflections are intended to help us to find our true purpose for living!

___

How many of you have given some thought to the fact that finding that purpose really is dependent on first living that purpose so that you are able to recognize the right direction you want to aim for tomorrow? Have you thought that sometimes purpose doesn’t simply happen but that it might just be a part of something that you have already succeeded in and it is because of that success, you are able to plan for an even bigger and stronger next step? But how do you first recognize that something is worthwhile continuing? Well, ask any life coach, and you will most likely find them telling you to make a list. And regardless whether the direction you want to aim for is with regards to your faith or your job or your family and friends, organizing your thoughts in a way that allows you to review them is really a positive step we all should consider. But how? What are the things we should look at? Well there are a myriad of questions, each different depending on who you are talking to. However, there are a few key things that, in my opinion, really warrant consideration. And while you may decide on a slightly different list, these are some that I think might be the most helpful! They are all things that I gave serious consideration to when I first began that decision of following the calling I felt that led me to re-examine my faith and what I wanted it to add to my life!

___

My Hard Questions!

Who am I?
What makes me special?
What is missing in my life right now?
What do I need to do to make me truly happy?
What is the biggest thing I need to change?
What thing defines what I see as the best me?
What things have I worried about the most over the years?
Am I a good wife, mother, daughter and friend?
What frightens me the most?
Where do I see myself as being next week? Next month? Next year?
How do I want to be remembered when I am gone?

___

I have read the lists of others. One person even went so far as to list 95 questions everyone should know the answer to when trying to decide whether or not their life plan needs altering. I may have glossed over things a bit with my strategic planning. After all, I tailored it for what I needed answers to. As I said, you may choose an entirely different set of questions since no two people choose the same goals nor do we share the same hopes or dreams, for that matter. But spending some time doing a true self assessment really can help us to become the best person we want to be. And for me, my goals are to be the best person I can be for God, for me, for my family, for my community, for my country and for my world!

___

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”

Romans 12:2 (NLT)

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

