Thought For The Day 10/24/14

Standard

It’s God’s Will…????

Thought 1322

___

Burning Candles

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+it’s+god’s+will&qpvt=picture+of+it%27s+God%27s+will+&FORM=IGRE#a

___

While I thought that I was learning how to live, I have been learning how to die.

Leonardo da Vinci
(1452-1519)
Italian anatomist, botanist, scientist, mathematician, architect, engineer, inventor, painter, sculptor, musician and writer

https://www.englishclub.com/ref/esl/Quotes/Death/While_I_thought_that_I_was_learning_how_to_live_I_have_been_learning_how_to_die._2626.htm

___

I recently attended funeral services for the parent of a friend. I did not plan on staying long but I wanted the family, most of whom I do not know well, to know how sorry I was for their loss. I waited in line to greet the next of kin, as well as my friend, when I heard someone say a phrase that grates on my very being, like fingernails across a blackboard. “I know just how you feel but it was God’s will!” Now it’s not that I don’t believe with all my heart that God’s plan for all of mankind is not only pre-ordained but seldom revealed to us until the moment it is fulfilled , but I wonder why people seem to think that this phrase will lend comfort to people whom we are seeing at their most fragile and vulnerable state.

___

I know that people are generally uncomfortable when sharing a death experience despite the undeniable fact that death is probably the only absolute thing we can ever expect in our lives. Our sole purpose from the moment we first draw breath is to live until we die…whether that is seconds, minutes, hours, days or years. And while we certainly hope it is the latter, we are not privy to God’s will as to what his plan is for our lives and when we will be called home to be with him. And while we most certainly have lost loved ones ourselves, we do NOT have any idea how others are handling the grief of their loss.

___

Now the woman who said those words was an attractive and well spoken middle-aged woman who seemed to be oblivious to the fact that the moment those words passed her lips, the entire being of the family changed, as if some unseen wound  had been somehow scratched open to hemorrhage. My heart ached for them and the pain they were obviously feeling anew. I wish I knew who this woman
was because there is much that should be shared to help her through what was probably the result of her being uncomfortable with the concept of death.

___

So here are some things many years of Hospice nursing and dealing with the grief of families who have suffered the death of a loved one have taught me, and are well worth remembering as you stumble your way through your condolences:

  1. Do not offer advice or ever attempt to liken someone elses grief to your own past experiences. Every person’s grief is unique and often the things that comforted you in your loss may not help another.
  2. Say, “I’m sorry for your loss”. It is often the simplest phrase that says the most!
  3. It’s OK to hold a hand of offer a hug. Just these physical acts let someone know you are concerned and care.
  4. It’s OK to remember a time you and the person who has died once shared and relate this to the family. Family members want to talk about the person who has died and sharing this type of
    anecdote can often lighten the mood, if even for a moment.
  5. Ask what you can do to help and then follow through with your offer. Family members receive a great deal of support in the immediate hours and days following the death so plan a visit in a week or so. This is the time when loneliness can be most acutely felt.

___

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Revelation 21:4  ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

