Thought For The Day 11/13/14

Standard

Heaven’s Very Special Child

Post 1142

___

gods special child

___

“No pessimist ever discovered the secrets of the stars, or sailed to uncharted land, or opened a new doorway for the human spirit.”

Helen Keller

http://www.ableplay.org/library/quotes-about-special-needs-children.html

___

Heaven’s very special children are found under the umbrella of the huge grouping of special needs diagnoses. Whether a child has Dyslexia, or Down Syndrome, raising a special needs child can be a daunting and heartbreaking and yes, even an exhilarating experience for families. And how do I know this? Well, I did not have a child with birth defects nor any of the thousands of genetic or chromosomal abnormalities that so many families struggle to manage. But I did have a child who was bright, articulate, and could always spell words without benefit of a dictionary. But my child also had difficulties concentrating, was inattentive often leading me to swear that deafness was lurking somewhere, and seemed to be a perpetual motion  android unit masquerading as a human child.

___

Yes, we managed to make it through graduation only by the grace of God and some school administrators that knew that to retain this brilliant mind another year would not serve anyone’s best interest. And so my own very special child graduated, grew up, and became an adult that is just as brilliant and articulate as anyone I have ever met (except for my other child, come to think of it)! In fact, my heaven’s special child has done exceedingly well in life, choosing a career which actually makes use of some the genetics (and the better parts of those, I might add), which my husband and I gifted through the miracle that is life.

___

Our offspring was a challenge, albeit a wonderful and blessed challenge, but in hindsight, my child was a challenge that, were I have to face again, I would gladly grab a hold of with both hands. You see, I know that both of my children were lent to me by God for perhaps the first 20 years or so of their lives, to nurture and to raise and to teach and to love……and to let go into the world, where they both would make the world a far better place than it was before their entry. And it is my fervent hope that the very special children that God lends to other equally blessed families to nurture and love, do the very same thing. You see, in every blessed gift of life, is the promise that one day, there might be a cure for cancer, or even peace throughout the land. But even when that gift of life is a very special child…..a child who will never accomplish great things, still the great thing they give us is discovering the wonders of God’s love and mercy in the discovery that we can love absolutely that which is less than perfect. And isn’t that what God’s does for us all….we less than perfect people who are His children….anyway?

___

In James 1:16-18 NIV, the words and the promises are shared with us all. “Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers and sisters. Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of first fruits of all he created.” And the promise in these words is that with all that He gives, he gives us, His very special children, He give us the hope that as we live lives that both honor His faith in us, we will also fulfill His plan for the world. And I am a firm believer that as imperfect as each of us is at heart, whether we are a special child or not, that He never makes mistakes and that we are as perfect, in our own, very human way, as He wants and needs us to be!

___

Edna Massimilla is a woman whose poetry and gospel music have been widely published. She was also a mother of one of His very special children, who has chosen to repay her thankfulness for this gift, in a unique way. “I feel like I have gifts of writing, and I am going to use it for our Lord,” she says. This is what lead her to gift to the world with one of her most beautiful, and well known poems. “Heaven’s Very Special Child”, honors her daughter, born with Down Syndrome, who now is in Heaven.

Edna Massimilla is the widow of Rev. John A. Massimilla, and together, they served as the chaplains at Delaware’s Institution for Retarded Children.

___

Enjoy a video of this beautiful poem, “Heaven’s Very Special Child”, by Edna Massimilla, brought to you by HOPELights. 

 

___

God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”

Genesis 1:28 NIV

___

06 07 14

Photo taken June 7th, 2014 as Dan and I celebrated our 39th anniversary!

Happy Birthday to the man who captured my heart the day we met… exactly 42 years ago today. After all, you are the one that God put on this earth just for me!

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

