Thought For The Day 11/15/14

Standard

Scattering Seeds Of Wisdom

Post 1144

___

http://www.ehow.com/list_7330671_seed-scattering-plants.html

___

It’s not what you gather, but what you scatter, that tells what kind of life you have lived.

Author Unknown

http://spiritteaching.com/words%20of%20wisdom.html

___

I was sent a cartoon the other day from a friend who can completely commiserate with the creaky joints I have as well as the sheer joy I feel when I successfully rise from a couch unassisted and in one smooth movement since more often than not, I’m usually doing the rock-to-rise dance as I stand. Anyway, the cartoon she sent me had a message under it that was so profound, I knew it needed to be shared. Let me know if you agree!

___

“TODAY IS THE OLDEST YOU’VE EVER BEEN, YET THE YOUNGEST YOU’LL EVER BE, SO ENJOY THIS DAY WHILE IT LASTS!”

___

That’s how my world rocks! You never know exactly where that next thunderbolt of inspiration might originate from. But  since it is what you choose to gift to others that shows the true content of your character, I then I find myself challenged to  share with you any pearls I can harvest from whatever source I discover them, even when the source is a cartoon! And considering how profound the above quote really is, I am thinking you probably agree.

___

Appreciate and show gratitude for drawing breath and living this day. After all does not Psalm 118:24 ESV say this very thing? “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Yes, feel gratitude for this very moment, when you are both as old and as young as you will ever be, for what will happen in the next second is never guaranteed to any of us.

___

Consider for a moment just what a grateful heart creates in a person! Aside from the whole mind/body wellness that having a positive outlook gifts us with, gratitude, when accepted and then given back to others, acts as a magnet, attracting all manner of everything wonderful we hope for in life. Yes, gratitude yields an abundance of all of the positive things we need to live as productive and well-rounded human beings. Without gratitude and appreciation for things like hope, wisdom, creativity, courage, spirituality and responsibility, the life we live would be empty and hollow. And while it is not possible to live every moment with a sunny disposition, just remember things can always be worse.

___

Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die;  so, let us all be thankful.

___

The quote above which is attributed to Buddha really addresses the gift that we are given by living and learning and then scattering the seeds of wisdom and true thankfulness with others, even during the moments when we might just think we have nothing worth living for or worth giving to another! You see, as long as we have learned, are healthy, and are alive, there is ALWAYS something… anything… we can do for or give to others. And isn’t that the mark of a person’s true character and worth?

___

A Psalm for giving thanks. Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth! Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing! Know that the Lord, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations

Psalm 100:1-5 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

