Thought For The Day 11/18/14

Standard

The Face Of Poverty

Post 1147

___

Homeless and cold

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+the+homeless&qpvt=picture+of+the+homeless&FORM=IQFRML#a

 

___

The poverty of our century is unlike that of any other. It is not, as poverty was before, the result of natural scarcity, but of a set of priorities imposed upon the rest of the world by the rich. Consequently, the modern poor are not pitied…but written off as trash. The twentieth-century consumer economy has produced the first culture for which a beggar is a reminder of nothing.

John Berger

http://quotationsbook.com/quote/31464/

___

It’s been almost a year since I sat here broken-hearted, because I had seen a sight in my own back yard that I had not seen since my days of working in New York City, where the sight of tousled hair beneath a ragged blanket, all lying over one of the thousands of steam vents that dot the Manhattan landscape, was an all too common a sight.

___

I remember the day perfectly. I was in North Myrtle Beach, SC and the afternoon temperatures had plummeted….at least 25 degrees in less than 2 hours. I was leaving WalMart after trying to find a Christmas gift for my little guy. And sitting on the median where the entranceway meets the main highway were two men. They were very ragged, dirty, thin, wearing a T-shirts and no shoes. Between them they were holding a sign that said they were hungry.

___

Now I usually carried in my car individual bags with toothbrushes, toothpaste, soap, towel, washcloth, comb, crackers and juice. But I remember that Dan had taken my stash out a few weeks ago. (He had said it made the car smell funny. Dare I point out that it was the clean smell of soap rather than the aroma of smelly golf shoes???????) Anyway, I remember shouting out the window saying I would be back and for them to stay put. I went home, grabbed the bags plus 2 pairs of new socks and 2 flannel shirts…. and headed back. They were gone. I drove around looking for them but could find no trace. It was as if they had evaporated into thin air. And I was left thinking something disturbing. How many had passed these 2 men with barely a glance, sniffing in disdain as they passed?

___

There is no community that is immune from those who are disenfranchised. But how often do we pass without really seeing? Probably more often than not, if we really think about it. And we should be ashamed of ourselves! Especially this time of the year, as the weather is changing and becoming colder. But we are also approaching a joyous time of the year. A time of the year when we are compelled by some inner voice, to be just a bit kinder, gentler and more thoughtful to others. We are approaching a day to give thanks and another day to rejoice and celebrate a special birthday.

___

So today I challenge you all to decide what you can do to make someone else’s life just a bit brighter! Can you give a gift to another in honor of a tiny being born in a manger some two thousand years ago? Can you clean the closet and find a wearable warm sweater or coat? Can you gather those bath towels you were planning on throwing away, wash them and put them in a plastic bag with a comb and a bar of soap? Or the next time you stop for fast food, can you add to your order a gift certificate for a burger and a drink, and then keep it in your wallet, just in case? Can you do something? Anything? Can you help another child of God to find something to be thankful for?

___

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Matthew 25:35-40 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

