Thought For The Day 11/21/14

Standard

I Cried Because……..

Post 1150

___

http://www.thequotefactory.com/quote-by/wally-lamb/i-cried-because-i-had-no-shoes/33880

___

I never lamented about the vicissitudes of time or complained of the turns of  fortune except on the occasion when I was barefooted and unable to procure  slippers. But when I entered the great mosque of Kufah with a sore heart and  beheld a man without feet I offered thanks to the bounty of God, consoled myself  for my want of shoes and recited:  ‘A roast fowl is to the sight of a satiated  man Less valuable than a blade of fresh grass on the table And to him who has no  means nor power A burnt turnip is a roasted fowl.’

Sheikh Muslih-uddin Sa’di Shirazi

The Gulistan (or Rose Garden) of Sa’di

 (circa 1259 AD)

___

I cried because I had no hat till I saw a man who had no coat.
I cried because I had no coat till I saw a man who had no shirt.
I cried because I had no shirt till I saw a man who had no socks.
I cried because I had no socks till I saw a man who had no shoes.
I cried because I had no shoes till I saw a man who had no feet.
I cried because I had no feet till I saw a man who had no legs.
I cried because I had no legs till I saw a man who had no life.
Life is full of blessings…
Sometimes we are just too blind….
To see them…..

Original Wally Lamb. Adapted Version Author Unknown

___

Unless you live in a cave somewhere, you are well aware of the trying economic times that face many throughout the world. However, unless you are a member of the growing circle of people who are struggling because of a  tangible such as a job loss, most of us are merely tightening our belts a tad and eliminating some of those little luxuries we take for granted. But despite the fact that most of us are not really suffering….. not really….. we are bemoaning our fate loudly and often to whomever will listen. Yes, we think we are owed the best we can get and the devil with the means by which we get it. We will often step over someone to grab those tangibles we think we are due, completely forgetting about the things we already have! Yes, we all too often miss seeing the blessings that are a part of the life we already live!

___

There is a saying that “faith lies in not getting what you thought you wanted but getting what you have” and then being smart enough to realize the significance of the lesson. In other words, be content with the gift of today’s blessings because we never know what tomorrow will bring. And to actually see and understand the message is not really all that difficult. All it takes is a bit of travel and the journey need not be a long one. In fact, you might not even need to leave your home. Just pick up a book and explore the side of God’s world where “plenty” is a virtual unknown. Or how about entering the word poverty on your web browser. Once you find a site, take a moment and read about true want and see pictures of those who truly have nothing. You may be surprised to discover pictures of want in not just third world countries, but in your own backyard, as well. Yes, read and look and then let the experience fill your heart. You may just find it to be life altering.

___

Still not a reality to you? Still not something you can touch or feel or smell or taste? Well I’ll make it easy for you if you live here in the USA. Just click this link: http://www.foodpantries.org/, find and click your state and then your local county. You will find at least one listing for a local food pantry. Then go to your pantry and gather a few non-perishables in a bag and deliver them to the pantry. You will find the warmth of the spirit of good will just filling your heart and soul and I promise you that once you experience that feeling just once, you will never forget it. Doing for others and thinking about others, instead of bemoaning your own circumstances, becomes positively infectious! Yes, just like the catch-phrase and philosophy of the late 60s and early 70s;
TRY IT, YOULL LIKE IT!

___

photo shared from Young Turks Facebook page

http://www.facebook.com/#!/TYTnation

___

 He defended the cause of the poor and needy, and so all went well. “Is that not what it means to know me?” declares the Lord.

Jeremiah 22:16 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

