Thought For The Day 12/10/14

Standard

We Are Only The Clay!

Post 1369

___

patience11

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=picture+of+patience&qpvt=picture+of+patience&FORM=IQFRML

___

The keys to patience are acceptance and faith. Accept things as they are, and look realistically at the world around you. Have faith in yourself and in the direction you have chosen.

Ralph Marston

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/patience.html

___

I am pretty much a realist. I suspect that comes from going through, and not just surviving, but triumphing as well, over all of the struggles that I have endured during a lifetime of living. The thing is that it is each one of these that has engraved upon me all of the distinctive etchings (AKA scars, warts, lines, and grey hair) both seen and unseen, that have built my character and made me who I am. And if you think about the matter for just a moment, I bet you will feel exactly the same way! Were there things we wish I had not done? Oh you betcha! More than one? Well, for me, probably more than several thousand, as a matter of fact. But each one serves as a stepping stone for what we all must accept as a life well lived. And yes, those stepping-stones all carry us one step closer to the end. But they also carry us one step closer to our reward for the good and “God approved” choices that living those days has also gifted to us.

___

None of us wakes up in the morning deciding to embark on a journey through life that makes others wonder just what were we thinking. Most of us hope to live happy, fulfilled lives. Most of us hope to make our mark on the world, in some way. Most of us hope that we will leave a legacy of not just good intentions, but good deeds, as well, by which future generations will remember us. But we can not accomplish all of these things without first remembering that we are but the clay in the master potter’s hand! We do not go to sleep at night, nor do we rise in the morning or even draw a single breath unless He first deems that it will be our course. God’s creates even the most minute detail of our very existence. There is proof positive of this in Jeremiah 29:11 NKJV, ‘ For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope’.

___

Now I am by nature a planner. I like my ducks lined up in a perfect row and when one of those ducks is just a bit out of kilter, it throws me for a loop. I call that my OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder) side. And it has been this that has been my personal cross to bear over the last 21 months. The problem with planning things so precisely is that they either do not come to pass or they fail to meet our expectations. And when we perseverate or obsessively focus on these things, we are setting ourselves up for a lifetime of disappointments! We may hope in our hearts that it will be thusly, but it is God that directs our every action! That is almost a direct quote from the book of Proverbs! Proverbs 16:9 NKJV says ‘A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps’

___

So how exactly do we change that part of us that tries to be the potter instead of the clay? Well, we must do something that is very difficult. We wait. You see, it is God’s way that He reveals all things to us in the time that He intends that we know it. And this is something that is so contrary to my very nature that I am often finding myself in a constant battle to allow His will to wash over me instead of me hurling my will at Him! Nevertheless, waiting is a hugely important of what I consider to be the “spiritual walk” we make every day. And I am firmly convinced that God talks to us constantly. Sometimes it is through the words of another. Sometimes it is simply the way we feel at any given moment. Sometimes it is when our conscience nags at us when something isn’t quite right. The thing is, we might not be able to hear Him unless our heart is ready and willing to do so! And you know the old saying as well as I do. Good things come to those who wait!

___

Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act. Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes. Stop being angry! Turn from your rage! Do not lose your temper—it only leads to harm. For the wicked will be destroyed, but those who trust in the Lord will possess the land.

Psalm 37:7-9 NLT

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

