Thought For The Day 12/11/14

Standard

Quality or Quantity?

Post 1370

___

Quality

___

There’s no easy quick way out, we’re gonna have to live through our whole lives, win, lose, or draw.

Walt Kelly

http://www.iheartquotes.com/tags/walt_kelly

___

The other day I thought I would try a little experiment. Now let me preface this by first explaining that I have one of those new “smart phones” with the little wee person inside that you can talk to and ask questions of and she will look up the answer! Cool, huh? Well I got it into my head that if I had the capacity to dictate my emails, my Facebook posts and my instant messages, why not try dictating my blog in the built in note page that the phone has? Then I could cut and paste at least the word piece into my mobile WordPress link, which is also in my phone, and then all I would need to do is tweak it, add my pictures and then upload it using my laptop! Sounds easy, right? WRONG!!!!! Which just served to reaffirm the lesson that my mom spent years trying to drill into my head…..taking the easy way out is NOT the best way! Quality is what counts, not quantity!

___

Now there were a couple of issues that came to light relating to me trying to dictate my thoughts in the first place. Simply put, I CAN’T! There is a reason I am not a preacher in a church! I can’t manage to convey my thoughts when they must come from my mouth. I think it is this in a nut shell….my brain works faster than my mouth does so by the time I say what I’m thinking, I am way past the thought and it has since been forgotten! Typing allows me the opportunity to think and refine my thought before it comes out via my fingers across the keyboard. I can also read it and edit as I go along, which for me, is usually every other word!

___

Now I do have the power of speech! If you ask Dan, he is apt to say that if my mouth isn’t eating it’s talking. In fact, for about six months, I hosted a weekly internet radio show of faith called “Finding The Way”. But every word was perfectly scripted. I will never be capable of standing and speaking off the cuff, and present a credible message. But I accept this weakness of mine and instead, choose to transform it into a strength, by doing what I can do to share His message in a way that is more Mandy! It is the Mandy part that you are reading and sharing with me right now! It has been a struggle to get to this place, even though you probably thought my life and the way I express my view of faith was easy, am I right?

___

Man by his inherent nature, and most especially me, is meant to live life at a certain pace. Yes, there are those who rush pell-mell through their days, and somehow, it all manages to work for them. I don’t know how they do it, but they actually manage to accomplish all that they set out to do from the moment they woke up! But I really have to wonder if we are seeing the best that they have to offer. Are they offering the world quantity or quality? What is the difference, you ask? Well for my money,  I believe that there is an eternal difference between the two, especially when we are thinking about building the stepping-stones of a life of faith!

___

There are churches out there that proclaim that they have ordained thousands upon thousands of clergy who are now being entrusted with the tremendous responsibility of going forth into the world and making disciples of yet others, by sharing, through mission or another form, the word of God. And then I read the things they say and write about their work and their faith, and I often see many who can’t manage a cohesive thought on their best day. Now I do not doubt for a moment the depth of their faith. However, I must wonder who out there would trust the message shared by someone who seems like they can’t  fight their way out of a paper bag with two hands and a flashlight! This is a prime example of quantity versus quality.

___

Do we trust our children’s minds to someone in the classroom who did not graduate from college? Would we want a scalpel to cut into our bodies if it is held in the hand of one who never graduated from medical school? Of course we wouldn’t! Now I am not saying that great spiritual leaders must have a Doctorate of Theology degree! In fact, did you know that the Rev. Dr. Billy Graham, perhaps one of the greatest religious leaders of modern times, had only an honorary Doctorate degree? Yes, there is much more that measures a person’s heart than book learning. Desire and passion for what someone does counts for far more, but that passion must also be coupled with a person’s very best effort, no matter what the goal is they are seeking to accomplish!

___

What I hope to do is to create disciples who choose to think about God because of a seed that I have planted in their minds. I want to see that those who share my thoughts every day grow in faith and mature in spirit because they are choosing to join me as I make my very own journey to seek and to nourish the growing faith that is within my heart. And for me, this means not opting for the easy way as I make my journey. Paul talks about the master builder in 1 Corinthians 3:10-15 NASB ….. a perfect example of quality instead of quantity! “According to the grace of God which was given to me, like a wise master builder I laid a foundation, and another is building on it. But each man must be careful how he builds on it. For no man can lay a foundation other than the one which is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if any man builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, each man’s work will become evident; for the day will show it because it is to be revealed with fire, and the fire itself will test the quality of each man’s work. If any man’s work which he has built on it remains, he will receive a reward. If any man’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire.”

___

So the next time you believe that taking a short cut is best, think about what it is you want the world to know about you! Will they see your best effort when the see the way you attain your goals or will they know you did merely as much as you needed to do to accomplish your end? Then think about how much effort it took the Son of God to share His message with the world! Did He give us His very best or did He give just enough? You all know the answer to that one!

___

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.

2 Timothy 2:15 ESV

 

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

