Thought For The Day 12/31/14

Standard

Goodbye To The Old
Hello To The New

Post 1390

___

goodbye-2014-welcome-2015-1-1024x827

___

“Your  success and happiness lies in you. Resolve to keep happy, and your joy and you  shall form an invincible host against difficulties.”

Helen  Keller

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_newyears.html

___

December 31st….. the one day of the year that most people find themselves thinking about the life they lived during previous 365 days and how the moments of that year have impacted both that life and the world in which we all live, as well! And I can only speak for myself, but I feel certain that we, as a civilized world might just come to see 2014 as a “year that will live in infamy”. It seems that the bad events that occurred in 2014 seem to far outweigh the positive experiences during the same time frame….. almost as if we, as a society, are morally devolving rather than evolving. Yes, it seems as if we the people are failing to live lives that seek to create better world for humankind! And I wonder whether one reason for this downturn is that man is falling away from his faith and from God!

___

The faith of the human race is scrutinized in the book of Revelations, in particular the Laodicean Church, and describes a faith and a people so consumed by the rights of people that they seems to forget that for Christians, it is the word that truly matters, as man seeks to be guided to live in a way that is pleasing to Him. And in describing the parable of the sower in His teachings, Jesus seeks to describe the hearts and souls of people by talking about what happens to seeds that are being sown.

~~~

The seeds that fall and failed to germinate, and were, instead, eaten, sounds just like the man who ignores God’s word and instead lives and dies by his sin. 

The seeds which fall on stone but did germinate only to wither and die in the heat of day, describes man who hears the word and changes but only until the next trial comes along which then finds them turning their back on faith, once more!

  The seeds that fall in thorns and were choked as they grew, talks of a man who hears and heeds the word but is waylaid by the material things man comes to idolize!

The last three groups of seeds are the ones that find the rich earth and take root and flourish. And while their productivity might vary, it is these seeds that spring forth from fertile ground that talks of people who are not just spirit filled, but who use that spirit to share with others the fruitfulness and bounty that is to be found in His message.

~~~

So now that the time is here to rehash the life we have lived during the last year, will you seek to make, and keep, some New Year resolutions that will make the world of 2015 that we all share, a better place for you, your family, your community, your world and your God?

___

A Prayer For Strength and Wisdom In The New Year

Written by
Edgar A. Guest

Grant me the strength from day to day
To bear what burdens come my way.
Grant me throughout this bright New Year
More to endure and less to fear.
Help me live that I may be
From spite and petty malice free.

Let me not bitterly complain
When cherished hopes of mine prove vain,
Or spoil with deeds of hate and rage
Some fair tomorrow’s spotless page.
Lord, as the days shall come and go
In courage let me stronger grow.

Lord, as the New Year dawns today
Help me to put my faults away.
Let me be big in little things;
Grant me the joy which friendship brings.
Keep me from selfishness and spite;
Let me be wise in what is right.

A happy New Year! Grant that I
May bring no tear to any eye.
When this New Year in time shall end
Let it be said I’ve played the friend,
Have lived and loved and labored here,
And made of it a happy year.

___

May 2015 be a year when we all stand tall, take the hand of our brother and sister, and remember that it is not the world that shapes humankind, but humankind that shapes the world! Happy New Year to each and every one of you!

___

I am about to do a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness  and rivers in the desert.

Isaiah 43:19 RSV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

