Thought For The Day 01/06/15

Standard

I’m Sorry!

Post 1396

___

forgiveness

https://mandyspath.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/forgivenessapril.jpg

___

When you realize you have made a mistake, make amends immediately. It’s easier to eat crow while it’s still warm.

Dan Heist
http://www.quotesnsayings.com/sorry/

___

I have written perhaps 50 posts over the years about saying hurtful things to another. Well, after one such post, I received a comment from a friend that reminded me of a moral imperative that should be our response always when we hurt another…. whether the hurt was intentional or unintentional! Here is what he wrote. “I too have fallen into this ‘sin trap’ on more than one occasion…. but to make amends, to apologize to the injured parties, THAT takes another lesson: Humility… one we can all learn better from these days.”

___

The words “I’m sorry” are tiny ones but we often say them all too freely and for the wrong reason. The word sorry loses its magic when you use it that way, especially when it is said in apology for your having committed the same mistake over and over. Sorry loses its power unless and until we choose to not just rectify the mistake, but to make changes to our hearts that guarantees the mistake will not be repeated. And this requires our discovering our inner capacity for “humility”!

___

How many of us have sat ourselves down and really thought about humility, especially as it relates to God’s command? I know that I probably have, on occasion but on occasion is not enough! If we are both willful and prideful, we are not likely to be willing to submit our wills to the things that are God’s command to us! He says as much in Micah 6:8 when we are told of what He asks of us! “What doth the Lord require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?” Certainly we can not enter His kingdom! Matthew 18:3-4 reminds us of this! “Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” And we need to humble ourselves if we are to ever be forgiven. It is both needed by the one we wronged just as it is needed by us as part of our repentance! It says as much in 2 Chronicles 7:14, “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin…”

___

Trials are part of life. That we must face them is an inescapable absolute for man. We become vulnerable in our weakness that pride bestows on us when we think we know all of the answers here on earth, and even, at times, what we need to do to get into heaven. None of us like weakness and vulnerability which is why we seem to struggle so when the time comes to admit we are sorry for something we have done. But to do so with a willing heart will not just repair the potholes we often cause along the journey we undertake with others here on earth, but it also helps us to pave the way to Him and to His mansion on high! “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them” Esther 12:27.

___

Now just in case you just happen to think it’s too late, too difficult or even impossible to make amends, I want to share the following story with you. I’m sure most of you (here in the states, at least), remember a series of commercials aired by the insurance giant Liberty Mutual. I think of them as a “Pay It Forward” series of feel good acts! Well, that same company has also spearheaded a program entitled “The Responsibility Project”.  This project tells stories about how people say “I’m SORRY” and make amends…. sometimes even teaching a valuable lesson to others in the process. And while you may not always agree with the methods employed, remember that an old saying is not always true: Better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. You see, when someone is hurt, opening our heart, mouth and acting to make amends…. to do SOMETHING…. is NEVER the wrong move to make!

http://responsibility-project.libertymutual.com/blog/suspending-the-team

___

He leads the humble in what is right, and teaches the humble his way.

Psalms 25:9 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2015 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

