Thought For The Day 01/10/15

Standard

What Really Matters! 

Post 1400

___

Self Esteem

___

We are all primary numbers divisible only by ourselves.

Jean Guitton

http://www.quotegarden.com/

___

You have to love how quickly we find ourselves becoming the new “Flavor of the Month”! For example, say something impactful or stirring or insightful and suddenly, you find that everyone is your new best friend. Now there may be absolutely nothing else that is different about you. You think the same, you look the same, you dress the same, you do the same work, you sing the same song….. but just one little thing changes you forever in the mind of someone else. And the same follows for those “oopsies” we are responsible for, as well. In the blink of an eye, a seemingly innocent remark might just find you stranded, all alone, as if on some deserted island, friends scurrying away in the opposite direction, with the skid marks of their escape the only sign there ever was a connection. Why do we tend to judge the worth of another using such shallow criteria? Actually, now that I think about it, why are we even judging the worth of another at all? Is it any wonder that our young people suffer horribly from what they perceive is the terminal illness of having low self-esteem?

___

Now while some believe that our self-esteem is born within the experiences we share with the ones that mean the most to us, I sometimes wonder if that is really true. I do know that a negative statement made to us by a loved one can linger a lifetime in our memories but we have the positive feedback too that sometimes washes away the sting. However, a thoughtless word from an acquaintance, or even a stranger, can create a hurt that can not be forgiven or forgotten because we often have no capacity to work our anger through via a vocal exchange. I remember clearly an insult shouted out a car window by a complete stranger to me when I was waiting for a bus on the corner when I lived in Staten Island. The person, a complete stranger, yelled at me, and called me a big fat pig. Now I was in college then and I really wasn’t very big at the time….. unless you consider 155 lbs big (considering that today, the average American woman is 5’4″, has a waist size of 34-35 inches and weighs between 140-150 lbs, with a dress size of 12-14). But I was hurt to my very core and I was sobbing hysterically as the bus stopped to pick me up. I never spoke a word of that exchange to a single person, until today, although I vividly remember the pain the encounter caused me!

___

It wasn’t until recently that I really understood that believing that our self-worth comes from the feedback we get from others is a HUGE problem. The thing is, if we try to constantly seek the approval of others that matter in determining how we see ourselves, we will be trapped in a cycle of never living up to the things we are truly capable of achieving….like a hamster running on a wheel, we will find ourselves walking around in circles instead of heading forward in our lives. We must not live our lives through others, but instead, grow the fortitude from within, that will allow us live our lives for ourselves! We each are the perfect creation of the our creator, God. And as His child, it is only what HE thinks of us and what WE think of us that matters!

___

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.

Colossians 3:12-14 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2015 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

