Thought For The Day 01/24/15

Standard

O P E N — Walk Ins Welcome!

Post 1414

___

Open-Walk-Ins-Welcome-Neon-Sign-Custom-Neon-Signs-37-20

___

“Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts.”

R Talloni

http://rtalloni.hubpages.com/hub/Truth-Quotes-Everyone-is-entitled-to-their-own-opinion-but-not-their-own-facts

___

I live in what is often fondly referred to as the Bible Belt. As I was driving the other day on a highway very near my house, the truth of my first sentence really hit home. You see, I suddenly realized that I was driving along a road with the most churches I had ever seen in my entire life…and at 60 years young, I have done my fair share of driving along country roads!

___

Now I noticed that along the first 15 or so miles of this road, I actually lost count of the number of churches I passed, once I got beyond 12. And aside from looking to see whether they were Baptist, Methodist or another faith, the other thing that I made it a point to do was to check out all of those catchy signs complete with slogans meant to pique your interest and draw you inside, that are in the front yards of nearly every country (and not so country) church in America.

___

Now most of these signs were your average “welcome to our church family” type of signs, but there was one that I particularly noticed because the words on it were the same ones I read on the windows of hair salons and other businesses these days. You see, in the need to generate increased revenue, many businesses, especially those with a personalized type of service, want you to know that they want YOU as a customer and that they will do everything they can to make you a happy, happy consumer! Yes, the sign in front of this church said “Walk-ins Welcome”!

___

Now I was so surprised to see it that I even forgot to notice what the church name or denomination was but, once I finished laughing, I actually began to think about what the pastor meant when he posted it. Why was it that this particular sign struck me as being hilariously funny, when reading the same words in front of a business would not have been funny at all? Is it possible that I actually might find humor in the implied reference that any ole’ Tom, Dick or Harry was welcomed here and their presence be just as valued as would a King or a Saint? Well, shame on me for even contemplating such an insensitive thing…. even in a moment of jest!

___

How sad it is, that instead of welcoming everybody with open arms, we find that we are all too often inclined to question not just their right to be there, but their motives for being there, as well. What I did, in a single thought, was to somehow need to raise or lower my standards to accommodate another, instead of looking at the situation in such a way, that it becomes my personal responsibility to raise the other person up, no matter how they got there, or what it was that drew them to come there, in the first place! And behaving and thinking this way is anything but Christian! You see, in that brief moment, I forgot that everybody was welcome to come and listen to Christ as he shared God’s message. And just as He ministered to everyone alike, so should we all seek to reach out today and draw people in and share the words of faith that dwell within our hearts! Romans 15:7 NRSV says, “Welcome one another, therefore, just as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God.”

___
In addition to all that I write here and as the Administrator or a number of faith-based social media pages, I also advocate for children who so often remain voiceless in society. So how is it that I would remove the very same right from someone, anyone, who was seeking to be enlightened by God’s voice?
___
Remember when the disciples tried to keep the little children from coming up to Christ when he was preaching? Did Jesus Christ not chastise them, reminding them that it is everybody’s right to come and know Him and to receive His word and grace? Matthew 19:14 NIV, “Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” And suddenly, in my mind’s eye, I saw a picture of Jesus welcoming the multitudes to His gathering, especially children, and as they entered and drew near, they all passed his shingle, hung on a nearby tree, that proclaimed, “WALK-IN’S WELCOME”!

___

There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.

Galatians 3:28 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2015 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

