Thought For The Day 02/02/15

Standard

Begin At The Beginning With Knee Mail

Post 1423

___

knee mail

___

“God shapes the world by prayer. The more prayer there is in the world the better the world will be, the mightier the forces of against evil …”

E.M. Bounds

http://www.christian-prayer-quotes.christian-attorney.net/

___

Every day I read on social media sites, requests from both friends as well as strangers, that they would like to have a prayer said for them. The reasons for their requests are as varied as there are stars in the sky. You see, man’s needs are all-encompassing, never-ending and are as complex as the fragile life form we are! Now one amazing thing I am noticing is that is that I am not seeing these requests less and less but more and more, and often from people I would least expect to find wanting these prayers in the first place. And that was when I realized that God is winning! Yes, despite his best efforts at destroying mankind’s hopes and dreams through the turmoil he delights in creating, Satan is actually driving people toward faith and God, and not away from both! And what a wonderful thing to bear witness to, despite the fact that the heart of man still has a long way to go. But all beginnings must start with a single step, and that is what we now bear witness to, as more and more are reaching out to the unity and support that is to be found not just in online prayer groups, but in private communications with those who can give guidance in matters of faith, as well!

___

If God had mortal form, we would probably come knocking and ask if we could sit and chat. That is certainly what we would do and how we would talk to any friend or family member whose counsel we value. But unfortunately, while we know where He lives, His door is not one we can see, which is why He gives us another option. It is an opportunity to reach Him that does not require we dial a phone or get in our car and drive, or even walk next door. We can seek him out at midnight or dawn or noontime or dusk. Whether we are on the top of a mountain or at the bottom of the sea, and whether we are sick or well, we can always find him by knocking on His door with our hearts and then asking him with our minds, if we can sit and chat for a little while! That is what prayer gives to us!

___

Prayer is our chance to take a moment and chat. And I don’t mean to sound cavalier when I say it this way. Yes, we serve Him and owe Him reverence. But when we make prayer a chore rather than a chat, we sometimes become mired in the swamp our need is creating in our lives! While praying is not worship, it is still an essential component in living a life that contains faith! Also, just as we sit and chat with people when we want to get to know them a little better, so will prayer help us to know God better, and help us to better understand what His plan is for our life!

___

We do not pray for God’s benefit, but for ours. You see, he already knows our need. But when we put the need into words, either by our mouth or our mind, we are able to think through what it is we really want for ourselves and the life we hope for. But, like behavior we witness in the actions of any spoiled child, even if we think what it is we ask is best for us, God has other ideas, which is why sometimes His answer is YES, sometimes it is NO and sometimes it is NOT NOW! Just as we know the importance of setting limits and boundaries for our children’s behaviors, this is how God does the same thing for us. How else would we know that we have earned and that we merit the gifts we ask for?

___

I remember reading some things that are worth remembering about prayer and whether we are sincere in what we ask of Him. I don’t remember where I read them, but at the time they made such an impact on me that I copied them into a note on my phone, and I carry them with me always as a reminder of the differences between what I want and what I deserve and what I need!

  1. Anticipate that God wants to help you. Anything that you could ask Him for is infinitesimally small compared to what He has already given to you.
  2. Nothing God does is by accident. If things don’t go smoothly for you, your first reaction should be: “What’s going on? Why is God doing this? Why is He trying to get my attention?”
  3. If you are serious about a relationship with God, then you understand that God is always teaching you.
  4. To get our prayers answered, we have to be clear that what we are requesting is really the right thing and not just some momentary whim.
  5. Prayer is not an escape from personal effort or responsibility. It is a vehicle for us to refine our choices, and to realize that God is the source of all that we accomplish.

 

___

I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always offering prayer with joy in my every prayer for you all, in view of your participation in the gospel from the first day until now.

And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in real knowledge and all discernment, so that you may approve the things that are excellent, in order to be sincere and blameless until the day of Christ…

Philippians 1:3-5, 9-10 NASB

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2015 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

