Thought For The Day 02/03/15

Standard

Be An Organ Donor

Post 1424

___

Ezekiel-36-26

___

“God thinks within geniuses, dreams within poets and sleeps with the rest of us”

Peter Antenberg

http://thinkexist.com/quotations/god/3.html

___

Thank God (literally…..I have to thank God) for the inspiration he is planting in the minds of pastors and church groups who display such wonderful messages on church signs everywhere. They are so filled with inspiring and uplifting ideas and it is impossible not to feel compelled to share them with others. Now I do realize that not all of these signs are the result of inspired thought. In fact, I suspect that there may well be a “Church Signs for Dummies” book out there somewhere. But no matter the source of the inspiration, it is the fact that we are so drawn to the “feel good” messages they convey that matters, and that is why I found myself dictating into my phone yesterday the following words which I had read as I was driving not far from my home:

“BE AN ORGAN DONOR. GIVE YOUR HEART TO JESUS”

Suddenly the wheels began churning and I began to think about the very second I became an organ donor. When was the moment when the very beat of my heart somehow connected with His?

___

When I was younger I was very involved in my church. I attended services regularly. I sang in the choir. I taught Sunday School. And when I married and had children, I determined that they would know God and so I had them baptized and I reared them in the church family . Yes, I thought I was happy because I believed that I held Him within my heart. Then, without warning, illness struck and somehow the power it wielded became so overwhelming that, instead of clinging to my God for the strength I needed to overcome my adversity, my faith seemed to fall by the wayside. It was in that singular moment, I realized that I was living a life that, while not exactly a lie, was more like a confused and misplaced idea of what faith really is. I knew that either I really didn’t know Him or else the time was not yet at hand when we would meet! But the interesting part of the tale is that I was content living the life I was living and since I really didn’t yet know any better, I didn’t miss not having faith in my life!

___

Fast forward 13 years to the day I became an organ donor. It was March 25, 2011. That day I was on my laptop, which sits on our kitchen counter. I was caring for Landon who was just 13 months old and since he was not yet walking, nor did he crawl, I had him near me on a huge quilt on my living room floor, playing with his toys. He was occupied and so I used the time to go online to check my email and see if I had any notifications from my social media site. Really, it was a day no different that the previous 20,683 days I had lived through up to that moment. Then suddenly I felt a brush on my shoulder and at the exact same moment, I felt something move through me. And I knew! I don’t know how or why I knew, but it was at that moment that I knew I was being given a second chance. And since that moment, I have never looked back.

___

Does any of this make any sense to you? Probably not…unless or until you experience the same thing. And I have no doubt but that if we all wait long enough and are still enough, He will come. And yes, there are some to whom He comes like a clap of thunder. However, from talking to people in the nearly two years since that day, I have discovered that He is more likely to come to us on tiptoe. Isn’t it ironic that His coming to us mirrors TS Eliot’s work, The Hollow Men which has made famous one particular line pertaining to what might just be the antithesis of finding the future that faith and God offers to us: This is the way the world ends: This is the way the world ends: This is the way the world ends: Not with a bang but a whimper.” Simply changing the words just a tad gives receiving that second chance real meaning: This is the way our lives begin: This is the way our lives begin: This is the way our lives begin: Not with a bang but a whisper.

___

Finding your way to becoming a heart donor is really being reborn. We emerge from the womb of an ignorance that is usually of our own making, and we come alive in the realization that a relationship with God trumps anything and everything we once believed mattered. Finally the realization hits that all of our hopes and our dreams matter not if we don’t have the promise of eternal life that is being offered up to each of us, simply for the taking. And as our spirits join with His, the peace that descends is perfect and wonderful and we are given the certainty that comes with understanding, that this joy will last a lifetime….and beyond! Yes, this is the moment of knowing! At least it was MY moment of knowing, that He is inside my heart!

___

But if from there you seek the LORD your God, you will find him if you look for him with all your heart and with all your soul.

Deuteronomy 4:29 NIV

___

 

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2015 “MandysPath” Ministry

 

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

