Thought For The Day 02/06/15

Standard

 

The Face Of God

Post 1427

___

Great Smokeys Natl Park

Photo taken in the Great Smokey National Park

https://plus.google.com/photos/115701375126412820310/albums/5181180870153533857?banner=pwa&gpsrc=pwrd1#

___

“When we see the face of God we shall know that we have always known it. He has been a party to, has made, sustained and moved moment by moment within, all our earthly experiences of innocent love.”

C.S. Lewis

http://thinkexist.com/quotation/when-we-see-the-face-of-god-we-shall-know-that-we/365620.html

___

We have all heard the question time and time again. “How can I believe in God? I have never seen Him! I can not talk to Him! He has never come knocking on my door! So how can I know He is real?” And for a brief moment, I needed to think about just exactly how I would form my answer to this. How can I explain something my heart knows to be true? Then I remembered the tiny daughter of a friend who was born 3 months prematurely, weighing just about 1 & 1/2 pounds.

___

I asked over and over for prayers for this little one whose diapers were smaller that a cell phone. And she fought and fought to live and grow. Fast forward 34 months… almost 3 years! Now I see a pictures her mommy has shared of a still tiny face, but with laughter dancing from tiny lips. And I know I am seeing the face of God! Then I glance to the window and I spy the Basil plant sitting on my sill, which began life as a single 6 inch tall plant with spindly but intact roots. I found it in the produce section of my local store, brought it home, planted it, and now it has grown so big it has been pruned back countless times and its fragrant leaves have seasoned gallons of my spaghetti sauce. And I know I am seeing the face of God! Then I look up at the sky, as blue as a Robin’s egg, with fluffy white clouds dancing and changing shape at the urging of a breeze none can see, but all know is there. And I know I am seeing the face of God! Then I look down at the ground where, amid the brown blades of grass, I see tiny green shoots magically springing forth, a promise of the changes to come. And I know I am seeing the face of God!

___

The Bible tells us that we must accept by faith that God exists. That does not mean, however, that there is no evidence of God’s existence. “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge. There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard. Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world” Psalm 19:1-4 ESV. Deep within us we intuitively know that there is something greater than we are and therefore there must also be something beyond this life and the world as we know it to exist. Choose to deny this all you want but even Albert Einstein agreed that the presence of one who eclipses life as we know it must exist and it is as obvious as looking around our world….and beyond into the heavens!

___

God’s face and voice may not be among the things that I can view with my eyes or hear with my ears, but His spirit and love and promise is everywhere I look and in everything I hear, feel, taste, touch and smell. God is in the aroma of my first cup of coffee that wakes me in the morning, bringing a smile to my face, and magically transforming me from an ogre into a lady! God is in the smell of my husband’s pillow which ties him to me, evoking a tender and comforting feeling in my heart, even if he is 500 miles away from me. God is in the aroma of a product I use to clean my floors which always transports me back to a time of my childhood and the fun house of an amusement park I loved, who used the very same product 55 years ago! God is in the purring of my cat as he lays above my head at night, nuzzling my hair for 1o minutes before bounding across the bed, off to whatever mischief cats will find the darkness and quiet of a sleeping house. And God is even in the tug my heart feels every time I hear the bagpipes sing the mournful notes of “Amazing Grace”. And I think that if you have eyes to see, ears to hear, a nose to smell, a tongue to taste, skin to feel with and fingers to touch with, you HAVE seen the face of God too, because He is within each and every one of us!

___

“Then Jesus told him, ‘Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed’ ”

John 20:29 ESV

___

 

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2015 “MandysPath” Ministry

 

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

