Thought For The Day 02/22/15

Standard

Sunday, February 22nd, 2015

First Sunday Of Lent

Post #1444

___

bible-reading

 

___

Lent

In Christian teachings, this time is traditionally described as lasting 40 days which, according to the Gospels, commemorates the time Jesus spent before beginning his public ministry. The purpose for us is to prepare us through prayer, penance, repentance of sins, almsgiving, atonement and self-denial.

___

 A Prayer For Today  

February 22nd, 2015

Our Gracious Heavenly Father,

We thank you for this Lenten time to gather in thought and prayer to honor you and to remember the life of your son, Jesus Christ.

Deepen our capacity to pray and to come to You during our times of both trial and triumph. Teach us so that we may better understand ourselves, to be reconciled one with the other and with you. Make that love one of profound joyfulness. Make our hearts and faith as simple and honest as the faith of a child, and help us to strengthen our faith so as to make it above temptation and so that it may be renewed by grace.

Father, we lift our voices, as well as our hearts, as we pray the prayer that your son Jesus taught us to pray, saying:

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come; Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

For Thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever.

Amen.  

___

Author of Today’s Gospel Reading

St Mark the Apostle

st__mark_the_evangelist_by_lordshadowblade-d62zolm

The second Gospel was written by St. Mark, who, in the New Testament, is sometimes called John Mark. Both he and his mother, Mary, were highly esteemed in the early Church, and his mother’s house in Jerusalem served as a meeting place for Christians there.

St. Mark was associated with St. Paul and St. Barnabas (who was Mark’s cousin) on their missionary journey through the island of Cyprus. Later he accompanied St. Barnabas alone. We know also that he was in Rome with St. Peter and St. Paul. Tradition ascribes to him the founding of the Church in Alexandria.

St. Mark wrote the second Gospel, probably in Rome sometime before the year 60 A.D.; he wrote it in Greek for the Gentile converts to Christianity. Tradition tells us that St. Mark was requested by the Romans to set down the teachings of St. Peter. This seems to be confirmed by the position which St. Peter has in this Gospel. In this way the second Gospel is a record of the life of Jesus as seen through the eyes of the Prince of the Apostles. His feast day is April 25. He is the patron saint of notaries.

http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=305

___

Our Old Testament Reading

Genesis 9: 8-15 ESV

Then God said to Noah and to his sons with him, “Behold, I establish my covenant with you and you and your offspring after you, and with every living creature that is with you, the birds, the livestock, and every beast of the earth with you, as many as came out of the ark; it is for every beast of the earth.

I establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of the flood, and never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.”

And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. 

___

Our Gospel Reading

Mark 1: 12-15 ESV
The Temptation of Jesus

The Spirit immediately drove him out into the wilderness. And he was in the wilderness forty days, being tempted by Satan. And the angels were ministering to him.

Jesus Begins His Ministry

Now after John was arrested, Jesus came into Galilee, proclaiming the gospel of God, and saying, “The time is fulfilled, and the kind=gdom of God is at hand; repent and believe in the gospel.”

___

Christian-Music1

Hymn For Today

Be Still And Know That I Am God

 The author and composer of this meditative/chant
style hymn based on Psalm 46:10 are unknown.
Harmony by Stephen Dean

Be still and know that I am God,
Be still and know that I am God,
Be still and know that I am God,
Be still and know that I am God.

I am the Lord that healeth me,
I am the Lord that healeth me,
I am the Lord that healeth me,
I am the Lord that healeth me.

In thee O Lord, I put my trust,
In thee O Lord, I put my trust,
In thee O Lord, I put my trust,
In thee O Lord, I put my trust.

___


Thanks Be To God!

Amen

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2015 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

