Thought For The Day 01/30/13

Standard

A Mother’s Love 

___

mother-1

http://rishikajain.com/2012/05/03/mother-quotemothers-day/

___

When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice: once for herself, and once for her child.

Sophia Loren

http://www.inspirational-quotes-cafe.com/mothers-love-quotes.html

___

I once read an inspiring quote that is “Author Unknown”, which I shared with my Facebook page. It is about motherhood, something I am intimately familiar with, having given birth to both a daughter and a son and having witnessed the circle of life continue again in a tiny face that I see everyday, whether he is with me or not, because it is a face that I see in my dreams, as well…..my grandson. But the quote, which I share with you now, sums up perfectly what every mother in the world knows to be true, given that in this day and age, mankind all too often chooses to measures the degree and depth of love, in terms of tangibles we can see, feel and touch, no matter how wrong that might be.

___

MOTHER’S LOVE

A little boy came up to his mother in the kitchen one evening while she was fixing supper, and handed her a piece of paper that he had been writing on. After his Mom dried her hands on an apron, she read it, and this is what it said:

  • For cutting the grass: $5.00
  • For cleaning up my room this week: $1.00
  • For going to the store for you: $.50
  • Baby-sitting my kid brother while you went shopping: $.25
  • Taking out the garbage: $1.00
  • For getting a good report card: $5.00
  • For cleaning up and raking the yard: $2.00
  • Total owed: $14.75

Well, his mother looked at him standing there, and the boy could see the memories flashing through her mind. She picked up the pen, turned over the paper he’d written on, and this is what she wrote:

  •  For the nine months I carried you while you were growing inside me: No Charge
  • For all the nights that I’ve sat up with you, doctored and prayed for you: No Charge
  • For all the trying times, and all the tears that you’ve caused through the years: No Charge
  • For all the nights that were filled with dread, and for the worries I knew were ahead: No Charge
  • For the toys, food, clothes, and even wiping your nose: No Charge
  • Son, when you add it up, the cost of my love is: No Charge.

When the boy finished reading what his mother had written, there were big tears in his eyes, and he looked straight at his mother and said, “Mom, I sure do love you.” And then he took the pen and in great big letters he wrote: “PAID IN FULL”.

___

Now, having read this story, I really am compelled to think about another mother who, many years ago, paid a far greater price for the child she carried, nurtured and reared to adulthood. The one HUGE difference is, that her child never sought payment in a tangible form, for the acts he performed for her, as he grew, nor did his ask a tangible payment from the rest of mankind, as he lived his all too short life as an adult! You see, he knew what she had done for him to set his feet on the path he was destined to travel was his “PAID IN FULL” to her, just as he knew that the purpose for which he was conceived, would live, would die and would arise once more, was his very own “PAID IN FULL” for the bill of fare mankind owed.

___

Despite the fact that I am a mother myself, I can not begin to imagine the depths of that mother’s despair having to bear witness to the way her child died….even understanding that it was a sacrifice that was his purpose for being born. And, although words really are not enough to express my gratitude for her gift and sacrifice, I really want to say thank you, from one mother to another!

___

“Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.”

Hebrews 7:25 NIV

___

Well, it is now 2013, and while it may be hard for you to believe, there are still people living in the area devastated by Superstorm Sandy back on October 29th, 2012, that remain without essential services that you and I are taking for granted today! Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of this horrific storm. Lives will continue be impacted for years to come. But you can help! Please consider sending a Gift Card to the organization listed below. Thousands of cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can! Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Thought For The Day 01/30/13 | Dani's Blog

Leave a comment